RSS Feed

In Memory of (part 2)…

One other thing I thought of after posting my last comments about In Memory of stickers is the crosses, flowers and such on the side of the road signifying where someone was obviously in an accident and more than likely killed.

I don’t like this either. I understand why people want to do it, but I actually think it could cause more damage because people are looking away from the road and trying to see what’s on the side of the road or even trying to read what is written on the crosses.

And then, beyond being dangerous because it’s a distraction, it ends up being just a bunch of dead flowers or rotting wood and plastic which to me is like littering.

There are much better ways to mourn your loved ones, bring attention to their lives, or even acknowledge their existence. How about a scholarship in their name? An organization baring the their name? Or something else of significance?

As always…just my opinion!

About GeminiRed Creations

*cough cough* I’m over 40 and an entrepreneur at heart. I am in Corporate America, but my heart is in being an entrepreneur and supporting small business owners. Although my almost 2 year stint at owning a business was not as successful as I dreamed, it's still a passion and so I now try to put my efforts into helping other entrepreneurs such as my brother who owns Wickedly Wooden (www.wickedlywooden.net) and my friend Heather who owns Rinse Bath & Body (www.rinsesoap.com). I do enjoy my job so it makes it easier to get up and go to work every day even if it's not my own business. Maybe one day I will take a stab at it again...like right now I make handcrafted items such as hair accessories, aprons, and jewelry. In my free time, of course! In my "other" spare time I love to read - especially anything biographical or autobiographical. I also enjoying writing, but mostly for fun and I can write a pretty good “threat” letter when I need to. I’ve been known to get things done! I write about a wide variety of things from the random tomato or piece of food on the ground to the odd things I see in my daily life to politics…now if you don’t agree with my politics that’s fine, but be respectful and don’t post hateful comments.

One response »

  1. Again, I so totally agree. Also, I have made this known: Do Not Ever put anything plastic on my grave, or I will haunt you. I would most prefer a nice pecan tree, but if you have to do flowers, do it and deal with it when they wilt. NO PLASTIC. Nothing artificial. We clear?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

