RSS Feed

Did I really hear/see that?

Most of my “real” friends know that more often than not I’m found watching old reruns – especially the black and white ones such as Leave it to Beaver, Mary Tyler Moore, Dick Van Dyke and the other classics.  They are from way before my time, but I much prefer them to many of the options today.  I do now seem to be interested in shows such as American Pickers, Pawn Stars and Storage Wars along with Chopped and Cupcake Wars, but more often than not I’m watching something that was on a long time ago.

Recently, however, I found myself watching a few things on TV that I can’t seem to get out of my head.  Did any of you catch the recent Anderson show with the guy who is donating his sperm for free to “help” people who want children?  I watched this show with mixed emotions.  I’ve known several people who have encountered the difficulties of pregnancy and the extremely expensive alternatives, but I’m a bit suspect of someone who is giving his sperm away.  Supposedly he goes through rigorous testing and to some degree is more thorough than the quote/unquote legal entities people typically resort to, but I can’t imagine going up to someone’s front door and having them hand you a cup of sperm that you hope to become your baby.  The pros are it’s free and maybe you don’t have to go through all the paperwork and scrutiny of going to a lab.  But this guy also has some kind of “sex” site and he had a very interesting name for it which I have forgotten at this moment.  He has helped many people conceive children and feels it is safer than an anonymous donor because these kids will grow up with their parents knowing everything (that he has told them) about him and therefore they will be well aware of medical history and cannot “accidentally” date each other in future years.

Now, as if that weren’t interesting enough – Dr. Phil had a guy on the other day with some sort of infantile syndrome where he wants to live his life like a baby.  He has self-diagnosed himself to be living as an 18 month old and had a custom crib made, has custom onsies made, a very large high chair and wears diapers 24/7.  Here’s the even crazier part – HE HAS A GIRLFRIEND!  And…wait for it – she changes his diapers and bathes him.  I’m sorry, have I missed something here?  I’m 41 and while I’m not sad or depressed that I’m still single I find it a bit overwhelming that someone like him has girlfriend!  She wants to get married and have kids –his kids! What the hell?  Apparently she thinks he needs to cut back on his acting like an infant so they can have a “real” relationship, but they’ve been together for many years!  He hasn’t changed yet girly!  He wears diapers to work!  He wants to be fed in his high chair before they leave the house to have a “normal” dinner in a restaurant.

All I have to say is – I will stick to my old reruns…even if I’ve seen them over and over.  It sure beats the reality that seems to be happening around me!

About GeminiRed Creations

*cough cough* I’m over 40 and an entrepreneur at heart. I am in Corporate America, but my heart is in being an entrepreneur and supporting small business owners. Although my almost 2 year stint at owning a business was not as successful as I dreamed, it's still a passion and so I now try to put my efforts into helping other entrepreneurs such as my brother who owns Wickedly Wooden (www.wickedlywooden.net) and my friend Heather who owns Rinse Bath & Body (www.rinsesoap.com). I do enjoy my job so it makes it easier to get up and go to work every day even if it's not my own business. Maybe one day I will take a stab at it again...like right now I make handcrafted items such as hair accessories, aprons, and jewelry. In my free time, of course! In my "other" spare time I love to read - especially anything biographical or autobiographical. I also enjoying writing, but mostly for fun and I can write a pretty good “threat” letter when I need to. I’ve been known to get things done! I write about a wide variety of things from the random tomato or piece of food on the ground to the odd things I see in my daily life to politics…now if you don’t agree with my politics that’s fine, but be respectful and don’t post hateful comments.

Leave a Reply

